Guest

Sheila Ghelani


Sheila Ghelani produces works that are manifested in a range of media – performance, installation, participatory event and moving image. She works both as a solo and collaborative artist, and originally trained in contemporary dance.

She is interested in the relationship between art and science with a particular focus on hybridity, crossings, carefully controlled experiments, the practice of medicine and care, colour, genetics and love. She is an artist who champions making works for the passer-by.

Sheila’s practice usually engages with performance/performativity in some way. It often involves words/writing and the use of multiples of objects and actions carefully arranged. In fact she sometimes describes what she does as “the choreography of objects“. She likes to cut things up, break things apart and mix things together.

She has displayed work at venues and festivals across Europe including London’s South Bank Centre, Festival Belluard Bollwerk International in Fribourg (CH), Fierce Festival in Birmingham, NRLA in Glasgow, Trouble Festival in Brussels, Performance Space in Sydney and the Wellcome Collection in London.

As a collaborative artist she is a long-standing Associate Artist of Blast Theory and has toured and performed nationally and internationally for them and many other companies. She also teaches in academic contexts and regularly mentors artists and students and gives public talks.

At the Arc Opening Party, Sheila Ghelani presented her project Covet Me, Care For Me in the Maison des Moines building at Romainmôtier Priory, in which she invited the public to handle a glass heart with a highly symbolic content – a fragile heart, made of blown glass, that is not afraid to lay bare its insides and not shy about making itself heard. The small objects it contained represent devotion, pain, sadness, love and, above all, hope.

Whilst in residency at Arc she will be exploring her new body of work titled
Elemental, recently begun via a research bursary from Wellcome Trust. Elemental will eventually become a quartet of works exploring Sulphur, Atmospheric Forces, Breath and Flow - and Sulphur, the first in the series, will take the form of a text based performance work for three performers. Sheila is in the process of drafting a script for this work, also in development at Arc.

Related Galleries

image from gallery

Opening party

Project

Date

16 MAY 2015
16-24 OCT. 2016

Gast

Sheila Ghelani


Die Arbeiten von Sheila Ghelani sind vielfältig, genau wie die Medien, die sie dafür einsetzt. Sie variiert kongenial Performances, Installationen, Events mit Publikumsbeteiligung und bewegte Bilder. Die Künstlerin, die ursprünglich eine Ausbildung in zeitgenössischem Tanz absolvierte, arbeitet sowohl allein wie in Kollaboration mit anderen Kunstschaffenden.

Ihr Interesse gilt der Beziehung zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft. Den Akzent legt sie dabei auf die Vermischung von Bereichen, auf Übergänge und Grenzüberschreitungen, kontrollierte experimentelle Inszenierungen, Medizin und Pflege im Alltag sowie die Auslotung von Farbe, Genetik und Liebe. Sie ist Meisterin darin, Unbeteiligte in ihre Kunst einzubeziehen und das Kunstwerk für den Betrachter einleuchtend abzurunden.

Ihr Kunstschaffen bezieht häufig in verschiedener Weise Performance, Sprachspiele und Sprechakte mit ein. Dazu gehören häufig das gesprochene und geschriebene Wort sowie die Verwendung von zahlreichen sorgfältig komponierten Artefakten und Handlungen. Deshalb beschreibt sie ihr Kunstschaffen manchmal als «Choreografie der Artefakte». Sie liebt es, Dinge zu zerkleinern, auseinander zu brechen und zu vermischen.

Sie hat ihre Arbeiten in Ausstellungen und an Kunstmessen in ganz Europa gezeigt, darunter das Londoner South Bank Centre, das Festival Belluard Bollwerk International in Freiburg (CH), das Fierce Festival in Birmingham, das NRLA in Glasgow, das Trouble Festival in Brüssel, der Performance Space in Sydney und die Wellcome Collection in London.

Sie ist auch langjähriges Mitglied der Künstlergruppe «Blast Theory» und hat in England wie auch international in zahlreichen Projekten dieser und anderer Formationen von Kunstschaffenden mitgewirkt. Sie lehrt an Kunsthochschulen, betreut dabei regelmässig Künstler und Studenten und hält Vorträge.

Anlässlich des Arc-Eröffnungsfestes präsentiert Sheila Ghelani ihr Projekt Covet Me, Care For Me im Mönchshaus der Abtei von Romainmôtier. Dort fordert sie die Besucher auf, ein Werk mit hochgradig symbolischem Inhalt anzufassen: ein fragiles Herz aus geblasenem Glas, das sein Inneres nicht versteckt und es sich nicht nehmen lässt, sein Schlagen hören zu lassen. Die kleinen Objekte, mit denen es gefüllt ist, symbolisieren Anhänglichkeit, Schmerz, Traurigkeit, Liebe und vor allem Hoffnung.

Während ihrer Künstlerresidenz im Arc wird sie an ihrem neuen Werkkomplex mit dem Titel Elemental arbeiten, den sie vor Kurzem mithilfe eines Forschungsstipendiums des Wellcome Trust begonnen hat. Mit Elemental ist ein vierteiliges Werk geplant, das sich aus Sulphur, Atmospheric Forces, Breath und Flow zusammensetzt. Sulphur, das erste Werk der Serie, ist als textbasierte Performance für drei Darsteller konzipiert. Sheila arbeitet derzeit im Arc an einem Skriptentwurf für dieses Werk.

Gallerien

image from gallery

Eröffnungsfest

79 Bilder

Datum

16. MAI 2015
16. - 24. OKT 2016
03. JUN 2017
30. JAN - 05. FEB 2018
15. - 19. JUN 2018

Link