Guest

Pierre-Philippe Hofmann


Pierre-Philippe Hofmann (b.1976, Belgium) is a Brussels-based visual artist with Swiss roots. Since graduating from the Ecole de Recherche Graphique (Brussels), his career has been devoted to exploring his interest in both the landscape and banality.

Lieux Communs, a huge project (2003–2008) which went on show at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, also became the subject of a monograph and received the Prix du Parlement de la Communauté Française.

A residency at Arc will allow Hofmann to capture images for Portrait of a Landscape, a project he has been conducting on Swiss territory since 2012. He has been crossing Swiss territory at various points in time, following 10 straight lines that take him in stages from the country’s borders to its geographic centre, the Älggialp in the canton of Obwalden.

During these outings, in which he walks at a brisk pace, he sees all the variations in altitude, the ever-changing weather and the topology of the landscape unfold before him. He stops at regular intervals along the route to capture a large number of images in the form of static video shots. This collection of images will be presented as a monumental video installation requiring several dozen screens.

No fewer than 2,700 short videos attempt to create a synthesis of the Swiss landscape, its contours, its different weather patterns, its customs and typologies. His visit to Arc will allow him to rekindle his memories and give verbal expression to the last remaining thoughts on his experience.

Project

  • Portrait of a Landscape

Date

1 - 10 JUL. 2015
15 FEB. - 14 MAR. 2018

Gast

Pierre-Philippe Hofmann


Pierre-Philippe Hofmann (*1976) ist ein bildender Künstler aus Brüssel mit Schweizer Wurzeln. Seit seinem Studium an der Brüsseler Kunsthochschule ERG beschäftigte er sich intensiv mit Landschaften und der Alltagswelt.

Das Grossprojekt Lieux Communs (2003–2008) wurde im Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brüssel ausgestellt und erhielt den «Prix du Parlement de la Communauté Française». Ausserdem war es auch Gegenstand einer Monografie.

In Arc wird PP Hofmann seine Aufnahmen für das Projekt Portrait of a Landscape fertigstellen, an denen er seit 2012 in der ganzen Schweiz arbeitet. Die verschiedenen Etappen seiner Arbeit führten ihn entlang von zehn Achsen kreuz und quer durch die ganze Schweiz, von den äussersten Grenzen bis zum geografischen Mittelpunkt, der Älggialp im Kanton Obwalden.

Bei diesen Durchquerungen erlebt er in straffem Wandertempo extreme Höhenunterschiede sowie verschiedenste Klimazonen und Landschaftsformen der Schweiz. Auf seiner Route macht er regelmässig eine grosse Anzahl Aufnahmen in Form von Videostandbildern. Diese Bildersammlung wird in Form einer grossen Videoinstallation über Dutzende von Bildschirmen flimmern.

Mit nicht weniger als 2700 Kurzvideos versucht er, die Landschaft, die Landformen, die meteorologischen Variationen, die Nutzungsarten und die Typologien der Schweiz in eine Synthese zu bringen. Sein Besuch im Arc gibt ihm die Möglichkeit, noch einmal in seine Erinnerungen einzutauchen und auszudrücken, welche Spuren diese Erfahrung in ihm hinterlassen hat.

Projekte

  • Portrait of a Landscape

Datum

01. - 10. JUL 2015
15. FEB - 14. MÄR 2018

Link