Guest

Nora Adwan


Nora Adwan works with photography and large sculptural installations. She is interested in the tension between digital and analogue images and objects, and the different kind of materiality they produce.

She is interested in the way these images are perceived, and how they trigger different thought processes. There are many parallel routes, or entry points into her work; some are triggered by social phenomena or technological developments; others are intuitive process-based pieces.

At Arc, she will be engaging in a Walk & Talk residency with Lana Sirri about the figure of the "Arab woman". The figure of the “Arab woman” is often talked about, analysed, discussed and written about, but mostly not by those who embody this identity. In these cases, the Arab woman has to navigate her body and identity between often competing and contradictory spaces: Orientalism and fundamentalism. It is in these spaces that her body is regulated and consumed.

During their time at Arc, Nora Adwan and Lana Sirri will discuss the contemporary position of Muslim Arab women—a subjectivity and body that they embody in themselves, living in Western societies. They will focus on their own positions both in academia and the art world.

The title of the new visual artistic research project beginning here is “Defragmentation: from orientalism to terror suspects; imaging Arab women in the West”.

Project

  • Walk & Talk

Date

 9 - 13 OCT. 2017

Link

noraadwan.com

Gast

Nora Adwan


Nora Adwan arbeitet mit Fotografie und grossen skulpturalen Installationen. Sie interessiert sich für das Spannungsfeld zwischen digitalen und analogen Bildern und Objekten sowie der unterschiedlichen Materialität, die sie erzeugen.

Sie interessiert sich dafür, wie diese Bilder betrachtet werden und verschiedene Denkprozesse auslösen. Es gibt viele parallele Wege und Zugangspunkte zu ihrem Werk. Manche werden von gesellschaftlichen Phänomenen oder technischen Entwicklungen ausgelöst, andere sind intuitive, prozessbasierte Stücke.

Ihre Walk&Talk-Residenz im Arc mit Lana Sirri wird sich um das Thema die "Arabische Frau" drehen. Die "Arabische Frau" wird oft analysiert, und es wird viel über sie gesprochen, diskutiert und geschrieben. Doch meist nicht von jenen, die diese Identität verkörpern. Dabei muss die Arabische Frau ihren Körper und ihre Identität oftmals zwischen zwei konkurrierenden und widersprüchlichen Bereichen manövrieren: dem Orientalismus und dem Fundamentalismus. In ebendiesen Bereichen wird ihr Körper reglementiert und aufgebraucht.

Während ihrer Zeit am Arc werden Nora Adwan und Lana Sirri die zeitgenössische Position muslimischer arabischer Frauen diskutieren – in der Subjektivität und dem Körper, die sie selbst personifizieren, da sie in westlichen Gesellschaften leben. Sie werden ihre eigenen Positionen sowohl in der akademischen als auch in der Kunstwelt ins Zentrum stellen.

Der Titel des neuen visuellen Kunstforschungsprojekts, das hier beginnt, lautet «Defragmentation: from orientalism to terror suspects; imaging Arab women in the West».

Projekte

Datum

09. - 13. OKT 2017

Link