Guest

Jacek Smolicki


Jacek Smolicki is a cross-media artist and designer with degrees in Methodology of Design, Interdisciplinary Studies/Experience Design and Sound Art currently enrolled in a PhD research at the Malmö University. 

His practice-based expertise is built upon an a range of diverse international initiatives and projects including such forms as interactive installations, sous-veillance art (Moscow Biennale for Young Art 2012), site-specific memorial art (Last Walk of Olof Palme, Stockholm 2011), soundwalks (The District 1941-1943, Krakow, Jewish Culture Festival, 2013), immersive soundscapes (Augmented Spatiality, Stockholm 2013). 

Since 2008 he has been conducting a life-long initiative based on documenting his presence in public spaces by the means of consistently performed practices deploying a range of multi-modal technologies and artistic techniques (www.on-going.net). On-Going Project includes for instance Minuting in which Smolicki records at least one minute of sound every day since August 2010. 

Besides engaging with existing recording technologies, archives, and heritage, in his research and artistic work, he is interested in developing and testing new techniques for experiencing, recording and archiving public spaces, everyday life, and natural environments.
As a point of departure to his work at Arc, he will use his archive of field recordings he has been constructing for the last eight years.
He explores how practices of solitary and collective field recording, soundwalking and soundscape archiving can raise awareness and augment the perception of various phenomena embedded in our daily milieus though not always that easily detectable.

Date

14 - 19 SEP 2016
03 JUN 2017
30 JAN - 05 FEB 2018
15 - 19 JUN 2018
15 OCT - 13 NOV 2018

Link

Gast

Jacek Smolicki


Jacek Smolicki ist ein Crossmedia-Künstler und Designer mit Abschlüssen in Designmethodologie, Interdisziplinären Studien / Experience Design und Sound Art und ist zurzeit als Doktorand an der Universität Malmö eingeschrieben. 

Seine praxisbasierte Fachkompetenz rührt von zahlreichen internationalen Initiativen und Projekten her und beinhaltet Ausdrucksformen wie interaktive Installationen, Sousveillance (Moscow Biennale for Young Art 2012), standortspezifische Memorial Art (Last Walk of Olof Palme, Stockholm 2011), Soundwalks (The District 1941–1943, Krakau, Jüdisches Kulturfestival 2013) und immersive Klangwelten (Augmented Spatiality, Stockholm 2013). 

2008 begann er mit einer lebenslangen Initiative, die auf seiner Präsenz im öffentlichen Raum beruht. Er dokumentiert seine kontinuierlich durchgeführten Aktivitäten, bei denen er zahlreiche multimodale Technologien und künstlerische Techniken einsetzt (www.on-going.net). Das Projekt On-Going beinhaltet zum Beispiel Minuting: Smolicki zeichnet seit August 2010 jeden Tag mindestens eine Minute lang Geräusche auf. 

Nebst seiner Auseinandersetzung mit bestehenden Aufnahmetechnologien, -archiven und -traditionen interessiere er sich bei seiner Forschung und künstlerischen Arbeit insbesondere für die Entwicklung und Erprobung neuer Methoden für die Erfahrung, Aufnahme und Archivierung öffentlicher Räume, des Alltags und natürlicher Umgebungen.

Als Ausgangspunkt für seine Arbeit im Arc dient sein Archiv von Geräuschaufnahmen, das er über die letzten acht Jahre aufgebaut hat.

Er untersucht, wie individuelle und kollektive Geräuschaufnahmen, Soundwalking und die Archivierung von Geräuschkulissen die Aufmerksamkeit fördern und die Wahrnehmung kaum bemerkbarer Phänomene in unserem täglichen Umfeld verstärken können.

Datum

14. - 19. SEP 2016
03. JUN 2017
30. JAN - 05. FEB 2018
15. - 19. JUN 2018
15. OKT - 13. NOV 2018

Link