Guest

Arielle Grasser


Arielle Grasser explores the origin and construction of myths in her art. Her obsessive research dissects the concept of “mythification” and the role of erroneous interpretations, rumours, false information and other artefacts in the creation of myths and legends. 

She is interested in the way in which errors and gaps in knowledge can result in a slide towards fiction. Arielle Grasser’s projects are based on modes of representation conveyed by the media, science and religion, and generally take the form of reinvented myths. She takes a fresh look at stories which are often taken for granted and wrongly considered to be real, demonstrating that the manner of their representation always conceals imaginary or fake elements.

During their residency at Arc, Arielle and Vytautas Jankauskas will explore the way in which new technologies currently contribute to new religious models, reflecting on the manner in which cutting-edge tools transform rituals, objects and places of worship, and analysing the methods that have been put in place by the religious authorities to adapt to a contemporary context.

Project

  • Custom Made residency

Dates

3-30 NOV. 2016

Gast

Arielle Grasser


Arielle Grasser erforscht in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis die Herkunft und den Aufbau von Mythen. Mit Leidenschaft untersucht sie akribisch genau die Mythisierung und die Rolle von falschen Auslegungen, Gerüchten, Fehlinformationen und anderen Artefakten bei der Entstehung von Mythen und Legenden. 

Sie interessiert sich dafür, auf welche Art Fehler und Wissenslücken dazu führen, dass eine Verschiebung in Richtung Fiktion stattfindet. Die Projekte von Arielle Grasser, die normalerweise selbst die Form von neu erfundenen Mythen annehmen, stützen sich auf die Art, wie die Medien, die Wissenschaft oder die Religion etwas darstellen oder vermitteln. Sie zeigt Geschichten, die oft fälschlicherweise als unbestritten und real betrachtet werden, aus einer neuen Perspektive und führt so vor Augen, dass sich in den Darstellungen immer auch ein erfundener oder unwahrer Teil verbirgt.

Während ihres Aufenthalts im Arc erforschen Arielle und Vytautas Jankauskas die Art und Weise, wie aktuelle Technologien neue religiöse Modelle beeinflussen. Sie denken darüber nach, wie diese neue Entwicklungen Rituale oder Kultobjekte und -räume verändern, und analysieren die Methoden, die von der Religion übernommen werden, um sich dem modernen Kontext anzupassen.

Datum

03. - 30. NOV 2016
03. JUN 2017
24. - 30. AUG 2017
15. - 19. JUN 2018

Link