Guest

Sonja Jokiniemi


Sonja Jokiniemi (1983, Kuopio) is a performer and choreographer based in Helsinki, Finland. She holds BA in Contemporary dance and choreography from Laban Centre London and MA in Theatre from DasArts in Amsterdam.

Her works are often based on catastrophic events, characterized by miniature landscapes. She is interested in subjective language systems and working with objects as co-performers. Her latest solo works include OH NO (2013) and Hmm (2015). Besides her performance work, she makes drawings and books, like Disastrous Events (2013) or PA A (2015), a book based on notations of subjective language. 

Jokiniemi started a longer research project called Without an alphabet with autistic adults. The project focuses into subjective ways of communicating and forming languages with inanimate objects and with each other. Lately she was working at the Helsinki city council in a pilot project called HelCre. Among others, she collaborated with Alvi, an association that provides housing for people suffering from psychological difficulties.

At Arc Jokiniemi starts a new work called RRRRR. She has the support of her current collaborators Natalia Rangel Dominguez (composer) and Miguel Angel Melgares (dramaturge / visual artist). The main principle of RRRRR is based on structures of Schizophrenia, within us and in our surroundings, virtual world and socio-political structures. Jokiniemi is especially interested in the notion of «fake» constant presence and disembodiment online. The idea during this residency is to start looking into displacements, derailments and chaos in our surroundings and in our psychological landscapes, in order to build understanding and a working methodology for the performance work.

In April 2017 Sonja works on her new project Howl at Arc, an investigation to a collaboration of love between the human and inhuman. The project explores contemporary loneliness and loss. It attempts to create proposals of hybrid connectedness. The artist creates her very own loved one with whom perspectives on care and belonging unfold.

Projects

  • RRRRR
  • Howl

Date

01 - 10 JUL 2015
25 - 28 JAN 2016
06 - 09 APR 2017

Link

Invité

Sonja Jokiniemi


Sonja Jokiniemi (née en 1983 à Kuopio) est une artiste et une chorégraphe habitant Helsinki, en Finlande. Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts en danse contemporaine du Laban Centre de Londres et un master en études théâtrales de DasArts à Amsterdam.

Ses travaux se basent souvent sur des événements catastrophiques reproduits dans des paysages miniatures. Elle s’intéresse aux systèmes sémantiques subjectifs et au rôle des objets dans ses performances. Ses dernières créations en solo sont OH NO (2013) et Hmm (2015). A côté de ses performances, elle réalise des dessins et des livres, tels Disastrous Events (2013) ou PA A (2015), un livre basé sur les systèmes de signes de la sémantique subjective.

Sonja Jokiniemi a entrepris un projet de recherche de longue durée intitulé Without an alphabet avec des adultes autistes. Le projet s’intéresse à des manières subjectives de communiquer et de développer un langage avec des objets inanimés et avec les autres. Dernièrement, elle a travaillé pour le Conseil municipal d’Helsinki sur un projet pilote nommé HelCre. Elle a collaboré entre autres avec Alvi, une association offrant un logement à des personnes souffrant de troubles psychiques.

A l’Arc, Sonia Jokiniemi commence un nouveau projet intitulé RRRRR. L’artiste est soutenue par Natalia Domínguez Rangel (compositrice) et Miguel Angel Melgares (metteur en scène/artiste visuel), ses collaborateurs actuels. RRRRR est basé sur les structures mentales de la schizophrénie, en nous et dans notre entourage, dans le monde virtuel et dans les structures sociopolitiques. Sonia Jokiniemi s’intéresse particulièrement aux notions «factices» de présence constante et de désincarnation en ligne. Durant cette résidence, l’idée est de commencer à observer les déplacements, les déraillements et le chaos dans notre environnement et dans notre paysage psychologique, dans le but de les comprendre et d’élaborer une méthodologie de travail pour la performance artistique.

En avril 2017, Sonja travaille à l’Arc sur son nouveau projet Howl, une recherche menant à une collaboration amoureuse entre l’humain et le non-humain. Le projet explore la solitude et la perte actuelles. Il tente de concevoir des propositions de connectivité hybride. L’artiste crée son propre être aimé, avec lequel des perspectives d’attention et d’appartenance se révèlent.

Projets

  • RRRRR
  • Howl

Date

01 - 10 JUIL. 2015
25 - 28 JANV. 2016
06 - 09 AVR. 2017

Lien