Guest

Nora Adwan


Nora Adwan works with photography and large sculptural installations. She is interested in the tension between digital and analogue images and objects, and the different kind of materiality they produce.

She is interested in the way these images are perceived, and how they trigger different thought processes. There are many parallel routes, or entry points into her work; some are triggered by social phenomena or technological developments; others are intuitive process-based pieces.

At Arc, she will be engaging in a Walk & Talk residency with Lana Sirri about the figure of the "Arab woman". The figure of the “Arab woman” is often talked about, analysed, discussed and written about, but mostly not by those who embody this identity. In these cases, the Arab woman has to navigate her body and identity between often competing and contradictory spaces: Orientalism and fundamentalism. It is in these spaces that her body is regulated and consumed.

During their time at Arc, Nora Adwan and Lana Sirri will discuss the contemporary position of Muslim Arab women—a subjectivity and body that they embody in themselves, living in Western societies. They will focus on their own positions both in academia and the art world.

The title of the new visual artistic research project beginning here is “Defragmentation: from orientalism to terror suspects; imaging Arab women in the West”.

Project

  • Walk & Talk

Date

 9 - 13 OCT. 2017

Link

noraadwan.com

Invité

Nora Adwan


Les œuvres de Nora Adwan s’appuient sur la photographie et les grandes installations sculpturales. L’artiste s’intéresse à la tension entre les images et objets analogiques et numériques, ainsi qu’aux différents types de matérialité qu’ils génèrent.

Elle étudie la manière dont ces images sont perçues et les différents processus de pensée auxquels elles donnent naissance. Les voies parallèles et portes d’accès à ses œuvres sont nombreuses, certains travaux sont inspirés par des phénomènes sociaux ou des développements technologiques, d’autres sont le fruit d’un processus intuitif.

À l'Arc, elle entreprendra une résidence Walk & Talk avec Lana Sirri autour de la figure de la "femme arabe". Si la "femme arabe" est l’objet de nombreuses conversations, analyses, discussions et publications, celles-ci impliquent rarement les principales intéressées. La femme arabe doit alors réussir à gérer son corps et son identité entre des dimensions souvent concurrentes et opposées: l’orientalisme et le fondamentalisme. Ce sont ces dimensions qui régissent et consument son corps.

Durant leur séjour à l’Arc, Nora Adwan et Lana Sirri discuteront de la place actuelle des femmes arabes musulmanes, une subjectivité et une réalité que toutes deux incarnent en vivant dans des sociétés occidentales. Elles se concentreront sur leurs propres positions, à la fois dans le monde universitaire et artistique.

Le titre du nouveau projet de recherche artistique visuelle qui débute ici est «Defragmentation: from orientalism to terror suspects; imaging Arab women in the West» (Défragmentation: de l’orientalisme à la suspicion de terrorisme – l’image des femmes arabes en Occident).

Projets

  • Walk & Talk

Date

09 - 13 OCT. 2017

Lien