Guest

Matías Daporta


Matías Daporta studied at SNDO, the university of choreography of Amsterdam, and graduated from the MA in Visual Culture of Reina Sofía (Madrid). Although his training is in performance, he works as a multidisciplinary artist.

He has worked on the limits of theater and cinema, transcribed in a series of pieces called Knock Down. The final project of this series was the live shooting and editing of the movie with the same title. In 2016 he joined the LaJuan Gallery as co-artistic director, a performance-based art space in the centre of Madrid.

At Arc, Matías is working on a project titled #spanishwashing, on the limits of cultural diversity. This includes a series of artistic works from different disciplines connected by the same polétic impulse (poetic and political). His working hypothesis is that once the Spanish dictatorship ended and during the transition process, there was not enough effort to correct the damage of 40 years of cultural censorship. A homogenizing process (conscious or unconscious) still exists, and that is also a direct inheritance of the censorship policies of the time of the dictatorship. During his stay at Arc, Matías is researching cases and cultural policies, talking and discussing, and imagining the future of culture to come.

Matías is joined by the dancer Begoña Cuquejo and the lawyer Astrid Baldissera for the length of this residency.

Project

  • Custom-made residency

Dates

16 NOV. - 13 DEC. 2017

Link

matiasdaporta.wordpress.com

Invité

Matías Daporta


Matías Daporta a étudié à la SNDO (School for New Dance Development) auprès de l’Université des arts d’Amsterdam et a obtenu un master en pratique artistique et culture visuelle au Museo Reina Sofía à Madrid. Bien qu’il soit formé comme performeur, il travaille comme artiste pluridisciplinaire.

Dans une série de pièces intitulée Knock Down, il s’est intéressé aux frontières entre le théâtre et le cinéma. Le projet final de cette série a consisté au tournage et au montage live du film du même nom. En 2016, il est devenu codirecteur artistique de La Juan Gallery, un centre d’art consacré à la performance à Madrid.

À l’Arc, Matías Daporta travaille au projet #spanishwashing sur les limites de la diversité culturelle. Ceci inclut une série de créations artistiques dans diverses disciplines, connectées par la même impulsion polétique (poétique et politique). Selon son hypothèse de travail, trop peu d’efforts ont été entrepris au terme de la dictature espagnole et durant le processus de transition pour corriger les dégâts dus à 40 ans de censure culturelle. Un processus (conscient ou inconscient) d’homogénéisation existe toujours, il s’agit d’un héritage direct des politiques de censure de l’époque de la dictature. Durant son séjour à l’Arc, Matías Daporta effectue des recherches sur des arguments et des politiques culturelles, parlant, discutant et imaginant les perspectives de la culture.

Pour cette résidence, Matías est rejoint par la danseuse Begoña Cuquejo et la juriste Astrid Baldissera.

Projets

  • Custom-made residency

Date

16 NOV. - 13 DÉC. 2017

Lien