Guest

Kristien Van Den Brande


After a Masters in Philosophy of Pedagogy, Theatre Studies, and one year of research at the Jan Van Eyck Academy (Maastricht), Kristien’s main anchor became Brussels and performing arts, where she alternates between writing, editing and web design, curating, performing, dramaturgy, mentoring and coordination. 

Most of her work has been developed in collaboration, eg. with Myriam Van Imschoot (Sarma/Oral Site), Mette Edvardsen, Jonathan Lahey Dronsfield, Christine De Smedt, Sarah Vanhee, Wim Cuyvers. Since 2015 she is working on an editorial-curatorial-artistic research under the name of support de fortune. The research stems from an interest in everyday practices that thrive in the margin of institutions and deontological codes. Her main source of inspiration is literature, but spilling into urbanism, design, typography, feminism, archives, visual art and poetry. Her work takes the form of expanded publishing, lecture presentations and curatorial exchange.

Support de fortune (chance support) is a term coined by Georges Perec in Espèces d'espaces. In his typology of the page it is a space he mentions almost cursorily. It is the left-over denominator for types of paper we all use when other writing surfaces are out of reach or battery: a métro ticket, the margin of a newspaper, a cigarette packet, a block-calendar page, the backside of a receipt or used envelope, a beer mat or a coffee coaster. How can the use of ‘chance supports’ by artists and writers challenge deeply-rooted conceptions of writing and reading?

Projects

Date

16 MAR - 13 APR 2018
15 - 19 JUN 2018

Invité

Kristien Van Den Brande


Après un Master en philosophie de la pédagogie, des études théâtrales et une année de recherche à l’académie Jan Van Eyck (Maastricht), Kristien a choisi Bruxelles et les arts de la scène comme piliers de sa vie professionnelle. Elle alterne entre écriture, édition et conception de sites internet, conservation, interprétation, dramaturgie, mentorat et coordination. 

Une grande partie de son travail est le fruit de collaborations, notamment avec Myriam Van Imschoot (Sarma/Oral Site), Mette Edvardsen, Jonathan Lahey Dronsfield, Christine De Smedt, Sarah Vanhee ou encore Wim Cuyvers. Depuis 2015, elle travaille sur support de fortune, une recherche éditoriale, curatoriale et artistique née d’un intérêt pour les pratiques quotidiennes qui se développent en marge des institutions et des codes déontologiques. Et si sa principale source d’inspiration est la littérature, elle est également attirée par l’urbanisme, le design, la typographie, le féminisme, les archives, les arts visuels et la poésie. Son travail se traduit par des publications élargies, des conférences et des échanges curatoriaux.

Support de fortune est un terme inventé par Georges Perec dans Espèces d’espaces. Dans sa typologie de la page, il s’agit d’un espace qu’il mentionne de façon presque superficielle. C’est le dénominateur restant pour les formes de papier que nous utilisons lorsque d’autres surfaces d’écriture sont indisponibles ou à court de batterie: un billet de métro, la marge d’un journal, un paquet de cigarettes, la page d’une éphéméride, le verso d’un reçu ou d’une enveloppe usagée, un dessous de verre ou de tasse. Comment l’utilisation des supports de fortune par les artistes et les écrivains peut-elle remettre en question des conceptions profondément ancrées de l’écriture et de la lecture?

Projets

Date

16 MARS - 13 AVR. 2018
15 - 19 JUIN 2018