Guest

Jacek Smolicki


Jacek Smolicki is a cross-media artist and designer with degrees in Methodology of Design, Interdisciplinary Studies/Experience Design and Sound Art currently enrolled in a PhD research at the Malmö University. 

His practice-based expertise is built upon an a range of diverse international initiatives and projects including such forms as interactive installations, sous-veillance art (Moscow Biennale for Young Art 2012), site-specific memorial art (Last Walk of Olof Palme, Stockholm 2011), soundwalks (The District 1941-1943, Krakow, Jewish Culture Festival, 2013), immersive soundscapes (Augmented Spatiality, Stockholm 2013). 

Since 2008 he has been conducting a life-long initiative based on documenting his presence in public spaces by the means of consistently performed practices deploying a range of multi-modal technologies and artistic techniques (www.on-going.net). On-Going Project includes for instance Minuting in which Smolicki records at least one minute of sound every day since August 2010. 

Besides engaging with existing recording technologies, archives, and heritage, in his research and artistic work, he is interested in developing and testing new techniques for experiencing, recording and archiving public spaces, everyday life, and natural environments.
As a point of departure to his work at Arc, he will use his archive of field recordings he has been constructing for the last eight years.
He explores how practices of solitary and collective field recording, soundwalking and soundscape archiving can raise awareness and augment the perception of various phenomena embedded in our daily milieus though not always that easily detectable.

Date

14 - 19 SEP 2016
03 JUN 2017
30 JAN - 05 FEB 2018
15 - 19 JUN 2018
15 OCT - 13 NOV 2018

Link

Invité

Jacek Smolicki


Jacek Smolicki est un artiste et designer dans le domaine du multimédia. Il est titulaire de diplômes en méthodologie du design, en études interdisciplinaires/experience design et en art sonore. Actuellement, il fait de la recherche dans le cadre de son doctorat à l’Université de Malmö. 

Il doit son savoir-faire pratique à une série d’initiatives et de projets internationaux, comprenant notamment des installations interactives, de la sousveillance (Biennale de Moscou pour jeunes artistes, 2012), de l’art commémoratif (Last Walk of Olof Palme, Stockholm, 2011), des promenades sonores (The District 1941 –1943, Cracovie, Festival de culture juive, 2013) et des paysages sonores (Augmented Spatiality, Stockholm, 2013). 

Depuis 2008, il se consacre à une entreprise de longue haleine consistant à documenter sa présence dans les espaces publics au moyen de pratiques identiques s’appuyant sur une série de technologies multimodales et de techniques artistiques (www.on-going.net). Le projet «On-going» comprend notamment du minuting, pratique qui consiste à enregistrer au moins une minute de sons tous les jours et à laquelle s’adonne Smolicki depuis août 2010. 

Outre les technologies d’enregistrement, les archives et le patrimoine existants dont il se sert dans sa recherche et son travail artistique, il s’intéresse au développement et aux essais de nouvelles techniques d’expérimentation, d’enregistrement et d’archivage des espaces publics, de la vie quotidienne et des environnements naturels.

Comme point de départ de son travail à l’Arc, il utilise les archives d’enregistrements de terrain qu’il a amassé au cours des huit dernières années.

Il explore la façon dont les enregistrements de terrain, solitaires et collectifs, la marche sonore et l’archivage de paysages sonores permettent de rendre plus attentif à divers phénomènes ancrés dans nos milieux quotidiens, mais parfois difficiles à détecter, et d’en augmenter la perception.

Date

14 - 19 SEPT. 2016
03 JUIN 2017
30 JANV. - 05 FÉVR. 2018
15 - 19 JUIN 2018
15 OCT. - 13 NOV. 2018

Lien