Guest

Gosie Vervloessem


Gosie Vervloessem is one of the participants in the thematic residency "Re-invent the residency". She is a performer and film-maker. Under the name Domestic Science Club, Gosie experiments with the laws of physics for domestic use. 

Her work focuses on observing natural phenomena and asking questions about it: “Everything seems so logical, but what is the logic behind it?” Gosie Vervloessem’s research focuses on bacteria and viruses. The guiding questions in her works are: How to relate to an unclassifiable world that is chaotic, unhygienic and messy? How to free ourselves from the quarantine of our bathroom? In one sentence: How to advocate a cluttered world in times of Ebola?

Recently Vervloessem has been exploring the concept of the kitchen as a sanctuary and a playground for uninvited guests by introducing invasive species in domestic settings. Which values do invasion ecologies underpin and how are these values applied or denied in baking an apple pie?

During her Custom-made residency at Arc, Vervloessem would like to explore how invasive species could break the narratives of her research and give way to new forms of shaping places of encounter. During her stay at Arc, she will take the first step into this exploration by diving into related literature and more visual forms of communication.

Related Galleries

image from gallery

Re-invent the residency

image from gallery

Opening party

image from gallery

Re-invent the residency 2

Invité

Gosie Vervloessem


Gosie Vervloessem est l’une des participantes de la résidence thématique «Réinventer la résidence». Sous l’appellation Domestic Science Club, cette actrice et réalisatrice de films teste les lois de la physique afin de les utiliser à des fins domestiques.

Son travail consiste à observer des phénomènes naturels et à s’interroger à leur sujet: «Tout semble si logique, mais quelle en est la logique sous-jacente?» Les recherches de Gosie Vervloessem sont axées sur les bactéries et les virus. Les questions principales qu’elle soulève sont les suivantes: comment comprendre un monde chaotique, non hygiénique et désordonné qu’on ne peut définir? Comment nous affranchir de la quarantaine de notre salle de bain? Autrement dit: quels sont les arguments en faveur d’un monde encombré lorsque ce dernier est menacé par le virus Ebola?

En intégrant des espèces envahissantes dans des milieux domestiques, Gosie Vervloessem étudie le concept de la cuisine en tant que sanctuaire et terrain de jeu pour des invités indésirables. Quelles valeurs l’écologie de l’invasion incarne-t-elle et comment sont-elles appliquées ou bafouées lorsque l’on prépare un gâteau aux pommes?

Pendant sa résidence sur mesure, Vervloessem explore comment les espèces invasives peuvent ouvrir les paradigmes narratifs de sa recherche, et aboutir sur des nouvelles manières de former des lieux de rencontre. Pendant son séjour à Arc, elle va faire le premier pas dans la direction de cette exploration en se plongeant dans la littérature de son sujet, ainsi que dans des formes de communication plus visuelles.

Date

22 - 29 JANV. 2015
16 MAI 2015
06 - 14 AOÛT 2015
11 - 19 JANV. 2016
07 - 14 AVR. 2016
12 - 23 MAI 2016
03 JUIN 2017
01 JUIN - 03 JUIL. 2017
03 SEPT. 2017
30 JANV. - 05 FÉVR. 2018
15 - 19 JUIN 2018

Lien