Guest

Conrad Willems


Conrad Willems (1983, Ostend) is an artist from Belgium with an art practice shifting between sculpting, drawing and performance.

The origin of his work is found in his interest in construction, deconstruction and architecture, often tracing back to the basic shapes of wooden toy building sets. Classically trained in ballet, his body movements function as an intermediate between his two and three dimensional works.

His sculptures are constructed rather than sculpted. He works with freestanding pieces that are stacked on top of each other, remaining unfixed to each other. These modular installations are often constructed for a live audience. The building process thus becomes a performance, the resulting construction an installation work.

During his stay at Arc Conrad will be exploring in what way our play as children influences our professional (art) careers and he plans on creating a new modular art work based on this research. Our society limits play to the realm of the child, but do we really know the impact of play? How does play result in differences in architecture, construction and in the urban landscape?

Project

  • Custom made residency

Dates

 2 - 20 OCT. 2017

Link

conradwillems.com

Invité

Conrad Willems


Conrad Willems (1983, Ostende) est un artiste belge qui dédie sa pratique artistique à la sculpture, au dessin et à la performance.

L’origine de son œuvre est à chercher dans son intérêt pour la construction, la déconstruction et l’architecture remontant aux formes basiques des jeux de construction en bois. Entraîné au ballet classique, il se sert des mouvements de son corps comme intermédiaire entre ses œuvres en deux et en trois dimensions.

Ses sculptures sont construites plutôt que sculptées. Il travaille avec des éléments indépendants qu’il empile les uns sur les autres sans les fixer ensemble. Ces installations modulaires sont souvent élaborées devant un public. Le processus d’assemblage devient ainsi une performance, la construction qui en résulte une installation.

Pendant son séjour à l’Arc, Conrad Willems explorera en quoi notre façon de jouer en tant qu’enfant influence notre carrière (artistique) professionnelle. Il prévoit également de créer une nouvelle œuvre d’art modulaire basée sur cette recherche. Notre société limite le jeu à la période de l’enfance, mais connaissons-nous vraiment l’impact du jeu? Comment le jeu induit-il des différences dans l’architecture, la construction et le paysage urbain?

Projets

Date

02 - 20 OCT. 2017
30 JANV. - 05 FÉVR. 2018
15 - 19 JUIN 2018

Lien