Guest

Arielle Grasser


Arielle Grasser explores the origin and construction of myths in her art. Her obsessive research dissects the concept of “mythification” and the role of erroneous interpretations, rumours, false information and other artefacts in the creation of myths and legends. 

She is interested in the way in which errors and gaps in knowledge can result in a slide towards fiction. Arielle Grasser’s projects are based on modes of representation conveyed by the media, science and religion, and generally take the form of reinvented myths. She takes a fresh look at stories which are often taken for granted and wrongly considered to be real, demonstrating that the manner of their representation always conceals imaginary or fake elements.

During their residency at Arc, Arielle and Vytautas Jankauskas will explore the way in which new technologies currently contribute to new religious models, reflecting on the manner in which cutting-edge tools transform rituals, objects and places of worship, and analysing the methods that have been put in place by the religious authorities to adapt to a contemporary context.

Project

  • Custom Made residency

Dates

3-30 NOV. 2016

Invité

Arielle Grasser


Dans sa pratique artistique, Arielle Grasser explore l’origine et la construction des mythes. Sa recherche obsessionnelle dissèque le concept de « mythification »et le rôle des interprétations erronées, rumeurs, fausses informations et autres artéfacts dans l’élaboration de la mythologie et du légendaire. 

Son intérêt se porte sur la façon dont les erreurs et les lacunes dans les connaissances peuvent entraîner un glissement vers la fiction. Les projets de Arielle Grasser se basent sur les modes de représentations véhiculées par les médias, la science, ou la religion et prennent généralement la forme de mythes réinventés. Elle porte un nouveau regard sur des histoires souvent considérées à tort comme acquises et réelles, démontrant qu’une part d’imaginaire ou de faux est toujours cachée sous les représentations.

Pendant leur résidence à l’Arc Arielle et Vytautas Jankauskas explorent la façon dont les nouvelles technologies contribuent actuellement à de nouveaux modèles religieux, réfléchissent à la manière dont celles avancées transforment les rituels, les objets et espaces de culte, et analysent les méthodes qui sont mises en place par la religion pour s'adapter au contexte contemporain.

Date

03 - 30 NOV. 2016
03 JUIN 2017
24 - 30 AOÛT 2017
15 - 19 JUIN 2018

Lien