Guest

Aditya Pawar


Aditya Pawar (India) is a PhD candidate at Umeå Institute of Design (Sweden) working on the broad topic of social design, more specifically on participatory design with communities. 

He trained in India as an industrial designer and later moved to the Netherlands to complete his education in interaction design. More recently he was working on a number of practice-led research projects, less to do with designing objects and more to do with designing processes of collaboration. In addition to that, he teaches design methodology courses at the Umeå Institute of Design and he is part of an artist collective that focusses on food production and urban-rural connections. 

Participatory design is particularly relevant today when words such as participation and collaboration are taken for granted, are made to sound sexy and in the worst case used as means for harnessing the potential of the crowds or creating an illusion of choice. 

Aditya’s work emphasizes the role of communities, collectives and various collaborative arrangements of agents including designers/artists in generating the commons. The method of research and design that he uses is motivated by design anthropology, where design interventions form the basis of understanding our own practices and the world around us.

Aditya is a participant of the residency Culture of Permanence, that covers similar questions on participation, commons and interrogates design and artistic practices. It further poses the question about cultures of permanence. Just as permaculture founds a socio-ecological basis for cultivating plants, can we think of our design projects as sustainable and cultivating the commons? If we were to prototype our own practices, what would we change?

Date

07 - 14 APR 2016
15 - 19 JUN 2018

Link

Invité

Aditya Pawar


Aditya Pawar (Inde) est doctorant à l’Umeå Institute of Design (Suède). Il travaille dans le domaine des politiques sociales, et s’intéresse particulièrement aux politiques participatives communautaires. 

Il s’est formé en Inde comme designer industriel et a ensuite déménagé aux Pays-Bas afin de compléter sa formation en design interactif. Ces derniers temps, il a travaillé sur plusieurs projets de recherche appliquée consistant à concevoir des processus de collaboration plutôt que des objets. Par ailleurs, il donne des cours de méthodologie de la conception à l’Umeå Institute of Design et fait partie d’un collectif d’artistes s’intéressant à la production alimentaire et aux liens entre la ville et la campagne. 

La conception participative est particulièrement pertinente à une époque où la participation et la collaboration sont tenues pour acquises, sont rendues alléchantes, et dans le pire des cas, servent à contenir le potentiel des foules ou à leur donner l’illusion d’un choix. 

Le travail d’Aditya Pawar souligne le rôle que jouent les communautés, les organisations et divers groupements incluant des concepteurs ou des artistes, dans la création du bien commun. Les méthodes de recherche et de conception qu’il utilise sont issues de l’anthropologie du design, selon laquelle le design permet de comprendre nos pratiques ainsi que le monde qui nous entoure. 

Aditya Pawar participe à la résidence thématique Culture de la permanence, qui traite de problématiques semblables sur la participation et sur le bien commun en questionnant le design et les pratiques artistiques. Elle aborde également la question des cultures de la permanence. A l’instar de la permaculture, qui constitue une base socio-écologique pour la culture des plantes, nos projets de design sont-ils durables et permettent-ils de cultiver le bien commun? Que changerions-nous si nous devions modéliser nos propres pratiques?

Date

07 - 14 AVR. 2016
15 - 19 JUIN 2018

Lien