MISSION

Arc was an artist residency for research and dialogue in Romainmôtier, Switzerland, from January 2015 till December 2018.

Arc facilitated exchange and collaboration in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Artists and experts from different backgrounds were invited to appropriate the place over time, to critically reflect upon their practice, experiment and take their work forward, through shared activities and encounters.



Making is thinking

Arc was an inclusive laboratory, incubator and test bed for fresh ideas, new projects and imaginative formats. By focussing on research and dialogue, Arc created a climate where “making is thinking” - where artistic practice and creative discourse coalesce and flourish.

Transversal exchange

The residency offered a space for agency at the intersection between the arts and society. Arc welcomed approaches that encouraged the exchange of knowledge and skills, which led to transversal collaborations. Artists were invited to engage with experts from other fields, as this practical and productive process allowed them to widen their fields of investigation and forge innovative partnerships beyond the confines of the art world.

National and international network

Arc supported artists in their research activities by allowing them to develop thematic discussions and incorporate themselves into Arc’s local, national and international network, which at times it pursued purposely off the beaten institutional tracks.

Hospitality

Rewarding artistic exchanges can only take place in a friendly atmosphere that fosters trust, mutual respect and consideration, making artists and other practitioners feel welcome. This hospitality was central to Arc, and was shared by the hosts and the guests, the team and the artists.

Thematic questions

Arc wanted to keep re-inventing itself, by continuously questioning the residency as an art institution from within and without, challenging values, testing new ways of collaboration and questioning the wider socio-cultural ecology. Participants were invited to contribute to these thematic explorations and reflections with their own research and projects.

MISSION

L'Arc était une résidence d'artistes à Romainmôtier consacrée à la recherche et au dialogue, de 2015 à 2018.

L'Arc était un lieu qui favorisait les échanges et la collaboration dans une ambiance chaleureuse et accueillante. Artistes et experts d’horizons les plus divers étaient invités à s’approprier cet espace pour un temps, afin d’y mener une réflexion critique sur leur pratique, d’expérimenter et de faire progresser leur travail au travers d’activités partagées et de rencontres.



Faire c’est penser

L’Arc était un laboratoire inclusif, un lieu d’incubation et d’expérimentation d’idées toutes fraîches, de nouveaux projets et de formats innovants. En se centrant sur la recherche et le dialogue, l’Arc créait un environnement dans lequel «making is thinking», où les pratiques artistiques et le discours créatif fusionnaient et s’épanouissaient.

Des échanges transversaux

La résidence proposait un espace d’action à l’intersection entre l’art et la société. L’Arc était ouvert aux approches qui encouragent l’échange de connaissances et de savoir-faire menant à des collaborations transversales. Les artistes étaient invités à s’associer à des experts d’autres domaines, cette démarche concrète et productive leur permettait d’élargir leurs champs de recherche et de créer des partenariats novateurs au-delà des limites du monde de l’art.

Un réseau national et international

L’Arc soutenait les artistes dans leurs recherches en les conviant à participer à des discussions thématiques et en les intégrant à son réseau local, national et international qui sort parfois volontairement des sentiers battus institutionnels.

L’hospitalité

Un échange artistique fructueux ne peut avoir lieu que dans un endroit où les artistes et les autres praticiens se sentent bien accueillis, dans un climat de convivialité, de respect mutuel et d’attention à l’autre. L’hospitalité était l’un des principes fondamentaux de l’Arc, elle était partagée par les hôtes et les invités, l’équipe et les artistes.

Les questions thématiques

L’Arc souhaitait à se réinventer, en remettant continuellement en cause la résidence en tant qu’institution artistique tant d’un point de vue interne que externe, en s’interrogeant sur ses valeurs, en testant de nouvelles manières de collaborer et en questionnant le contexte socio-culturel environnant. Les participants étaient invités à contribuer à ces explorations et réflexions thématiques par leurs propres recherches et projets.